The Deputy Speaker of the Adamawa State House of Assembly, Mr Sunday Peter and three other principal officers have been impeached.

The principal officers impeached are the Majority Leader, Alhaji Musa Mahmud, the Deputy Majority Leader, Mutawali Mohammed and the Minority Leader, Mrs Justina Nkom (SDP-Lamurde) State Constituency.

They were impeached yesterday, Monday September 25, 2017 during the first plenary session of the house after coming back from a six week recess.

Mr Abubakar Hayatu (APC-Uba/Gaya) moved the motion for the impeachment of the deputy speaker and was seconded by Abubakar Abdurrahman (APC-Mubi South).

New officers were immediately appointed by the Speaker after their impeachment, with Mr Emmanuel Tsamdu (APC-Madagali) now to serve as the new Deputy Speaker while Mr Hassan Burguma (APC-Hong) was elected as the new majority leader.

The house also elected Abubakar Isa (APC-Shelleng) as the new deputy majority leader while Mr Lamsumbani Dili (PDP-Demsa) took over as the minority leader.