May 29 and June 12 will now be observed as National Public Holidays in Nigeria.

This information was made known by the Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed while giving details of events for the forthcoming transition of government.

According to the minister, May 29 will be celebrated as Inauguration Day every four years, while June 12 will be celebrated annually as Democracy Day.

The Federal Government had previously indicated that activities for this year’s Inauguration will be low-key with most of the activities for the day and event pushed forward to take place on June 12, 2019.