The National Working Committee (NWC) of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) this morning issued a statement endorsing Sen. Ali Ndume for the position of the President of the Senate of the 9th National Assembly (NASS) and Mr Umar Bago for the post of Speaker of the House of Representatives.

In the statement issued by Sen. Umar Tsauri, the PDP’s National Secretary, the party said “The final resolution on Sen. Ndume and Bago was reached at the end of a decisive meeting of members of the National Working Committee, party leaders, state governors as well as senators and members-elect on the platform of the PDP.

“This decision is in the best interest of the nation in line with our party’s determination to deepen democracy, ensure a strong and independent legislature, strict compliance with the principle of separation of powers as well as constitutional checks and balances in the polity.”

“All senators and members-elect on the platform of the PDP are to be guided accordingly,”

It would be recalled that the All Progressives Congress (APC) had yesterday through its party chairman also made known its preferred choice through its party chairman Adams Oshiomole

The APC National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, said, “We have all agreed as a caucus to endorse senator Lawan for Senate President and Senator Omo-Agege as the Deputy Senate President.

“We have also agreed to endorse Honourable Femi Gbajabiamila as the Speaker of the House of Representatives and Wase as deputy speaker. These four are the APC nominees for the respective positions. The governors and members-elect were unanimous in adopting this position.”

The inauguration of the 9th Federal Legislature holds today and it is expected that the winners for the position will also emerge, as the political parties pit their camp behind their respective candidates.